Skip Navigation
Search site

This is our old website. Most information can now be found on our new NHS Digital website. Let us know what you think.

Mental Health Minimum Data Set (MHMDS) includes currencies and payment information for the first time

July 29, 2014: Information about patients eligible to be cared for under a new commissioning system for mental health has been released for the first time.

The figures are included as part of the Health and Social Care Information Centre's1 (HSCIC) April 2014 monthly MHMDS2 report.

The information will support commissioners introducing the new mental health currencies and payment system3, which is due to be rolled out across England in 2014-15.

The new system involves assigning patients to one of 21 'care clusters' so that payments for their care can be appropriately managed. Care clusters are groupings of people in contact with secondary mental health services based on their needs.

The report features 75 new measures, including the ten national quality and outcome measures recommended by NHS England and Monitor3. It includes information about the number of patients using mental health services who were in scope for mental health currencies and payment and assigned a care cluster; the number of people who were within the review period4 of their care cluster at the end of April; the number of patients newly assigned to a care cluster in April; and how many of these newly assigned patients met the 'red rules'5, or essential criteria for their care cluster.

The measures are presented at national, CCG and provider levels for April 2014 and show where patients are receiving services and the volumes of activity. The data will continue to be produced on a monthly basis.

The report is available at:


Notes to editors

  1. The Health and Social Care Information Centre (HSCIC) was established on April 1 2013 as an Executive Non Departmental Public Body (ENDPB). It is England's trusted data source, delivering high quality information and IT systems to drive better patient services, care and outcomes. Its work includes publishing more than 220 statistical publications annually; providing a range of specialist data services; managing informatics projects and programmes and developing and assuring national systems against appropriate contractual, clinical safety and information standards.
  2. The Mental Health Minimum Data Set is an approved NHS Information Standard that delivers information on people in contact with specialist secondary mental health services. The MHMDS is unique in its coverage, because it covers not only services provided in hospitals, but also in outpatient clinics and in the community, where the majority of people in contact with these services are treated. It brings together key information from the mental health care pathway that has been captured on clinical systems as part of patient care.
  3. For more information about the mental health currencies and payments system go to
  4. Review periods are the maximum amount of time a person should spend in a care cluster before their needs should be re-assessed.
  5. 'Red rules' are the scores from the Mental Health Clustering Tool (MHCT) assessment that a person must meet when assigned a care cluster for the first time. The red rules are listed in the Mental Health Clustering booklet and are available here:
Close iCM Form