Skip Navigation
Search site

This is our old website. Most information can now be found on our new NHS Digital website. Let us know what you think.


OPCS Classification of Interventions and Procedures

About this information standard

OPCS-4 is an NHS Fundamental Information Standard that supports various data collections, such as Central Returns and Commissioning Data Sets, as well as other secondary uses of information essential to planning and improving health care.

The Clinical Classifications Service (CCS) within NHS Digital has responsibility for the support, maintenance, development and licensing of OPCS-4 which is governed by Crown Copyright.

Details are given below of Version 4.8, which is due for implementation from 1 April 2017.

This information standard is published under section 250 of the Health and Social Care Act 2012. An Information Standards Notice (see below) provides an overview of scope and implementation timescales, and the other listed documents provide further detail for those who have to implement the information standard.


Release date19/10/2016
Release numberAmd 105/2015
Release titleVersion 4.8
Key documents
Supporting documents
Further informationNHS Digital: Clinical Classifications Service

Previous releases

OPCS-4.8 supersedes version 4.7 which was approved by the Information Standards Board for Health and Social Care (previous documents can be found on the ISB website).

Close iCM Form